Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese to team up again!

Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese to team up again!

Stop the presses! News has broken the acting great Leonardo DiCaprio and avant garde director Martin Scorsese are bringing ‘Devil in the White City’ to Paramount Television.

Fan-favorite and bestselling Erik Larson book ‘Devil in the White City’ is now being adapted into a television series by these two, long-time collaborators.

It was announced in the winter press tour of the Television Critic’s Association that video streaming platform Hulu and Paramount Television are developing the book for a television adaptation.  

The non-fiction book is about how the fates of two men, Daniel H. Burnham (architect) and H.Holmes (serial killer) are forever linked because of 1893’s Chicago World Fair. Henry H. Holmes is an infamous doctor who built a ‘Murder Castle’ on the fair grounds to seduce, torture and mutilate young women.

Though Holmes went on the record to admit to the killing of close to 27 victims, the true tally of his gruesome murders is said to be over 200. This alarming number makes him the most notorious serial killer in the world.

Leonardo DiCaprio purchased the book’s rights in 2010 after both Warner Bros. and Paramount, who had bought the rights to the book in 2004 and 2007 respectively, let their rights to adapt the book lapsed.

When DiCaprio bought the script, ‘Taxi Driver’ and ‘Wolf of Wall Street’ director Martin Scorsese praised the book and the script.

Though Scorsese was supposed to direct the movie based on this script, he had to postpone the project because of the commencement of his long awaited mobster drama ‘The Irishman’. The Irishman brings together Scorsese with his long time collaborators Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci with whom he had teamed up to make Goodfellas.

At one point of time, Tom Cruise was supposed to act in and produce this project but dropped out. Later, Zero Dark Thirty director Kathryn Bigelow was attached to the project and she was supposed to direct and produce the movie.

DiCaprio purchased the rights to the film in 2010 after long speculation that he was fascinated by the subject matter.

Scorsese already has another project under his belt that he plans to bring to the floors after he finishes the post-production of The Irishman. ‘Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI’ will be his next project if Scorsese’s long time collaborator and production designer Dante Ferretti is to be believed.

Killers of Flower Moon is based on the bestselling book ‘The Lost City of Z’ by the author David Grann. The screenplay of the movie is being helmed by ‘Forrest Gump’ writer Eric Roth.

Fans of DiCaprio and Scorsese have much to celebrate now as their wait for another collaboration by this actor – director duo has come to an end. The two have been working on the project for months now. However, since Scorsese’s commitment to Killers of Flower Moon is quite clear, the level of his involvement in the project is unclear.

It has also not been clarified as to what role Leonardo DiCaprio will be playing in the television series. Fans are doubting if he will be appearing in the series at all, given that it is for television. The series will be produced by Martin Scorsese’s long time production partners.

The actor-di

rector duo have collaborated five times previously which began with Gangs of New York in 2002.

Click Here for More Entertainment Articles