Remember the PS4 Fortnite account curse?
It feels alike an age since Sony forced Fortnite: Battle Royale players to create separate accounts to play the game on Nintendo Switch, but Epic Gamers has finally applied a solution to repair the damage.
Announced back in September when cross play became a reality, Fortnite’s game account merge tool does what it says on the tin. Simply decide on which of your two accounts you’d like to keep, then log into both and voila: your v-bucks and items should all move to your chosen account.
However, there are lots of caveats to the merge tool. For now at least, accounts suitable for merging must have played on Nintendo Switch or Xbox One and the other on PlayStation 4 before September 28 2018. As the feature was created to solve account issues with unlinking PS accounts from Epic accounts that makes a lot of sense, but you can’t merge any old accounts you may have.
Definitely you can’t merge disabled accounts.
If you have an eligible account, it’s worth noting the change process is not instant. There’s a two week delay before your v-bucks arrive in your primary account. It feels like real-life banking.
Another limitation is your merge tool only works for cosmetic items; except for Save the World mode that enables you to transfer experience points. This means any experience points and levels from the battle royale mode cannot be transfer into your main account, and will be lost to the void.
Although it’s arrived a few months later than expected, the account merge tool should finally banish the spectra of the PlayStation 4 account curse. It’s literally saved my skin.